Be courageous

6176f6cf10688071a366d456b5388338

 

My favorite Brené Brown quote goes: “This hurts. This is disappointing, maybe even devastating. But success and recognition and approval are not the values that drive me. My value is courage and I was just courageous.”

This has actually transformed the way I live my life. I makes me do things I normally wouldn’t dare to do. It makes me not beat myself up when I finally do them and it doesn’t work out or I don’t get the end result I had expected. I shake my head, I go “stop trash talking yourself, you were just courageous, and that is the only thing that counts!” And my life has been far more exiting and eventful since I adopted this way of thinking. I try things even though the outcome is quite unsure, even though I can actually anticipate that I will not succeed, but I that doesn’t mean I’m allowed to chicken out anymore. Is it uncomfortable at times? YES! I don’t always like it, but the end result is always so much better and I’m proud of myself that I dared. So stop striving for success – strive to be courageous!

Leave a Reply

